top of page
logomark-grand_publc-image.png

Program

​Education

Workshops

Workshop for schools   |

 

Women Composers in Luxembourg

Discover musicological research


A workshop for elementary and secondary school students:
explore, combine, understand

Is scientific research complicated and only for university students? Are the results uninteresting for today? Exactly the opposite! And that’s why it is important to get rid of exactly these prejudices!

The goal of the workshop is to give children and young people an understanding of musicological research using practical examples. They themselves become researchers, explore sources, and go in search of clues. Without any previous knowledge, the subject is directly approached: the natural curiosity to solve puzzles serves as a driving force to know the biography and the music of a Luxembourgish composer in a particular way.

Thus, students discover a new professional field with which they have little contact on a daily basis. Working with archives and sources, far from being an outmoded practice, is becoming an actual practice.

The research focuses either on Helen Buchholtz (1877-1953), central figure of the "Salon", or on Béby Kohl-Thommes (1923-2016) who, alongside her compositional activities, mainly was active as a singer (soprano).

The workshop will be multilingual (Luxembourgish, German, French), the linguistic requirements being of course adapted to the level of the classes. No prior musical knowledge is required.

The workshop is offered in two different levels of difficulty:
“Piccolo” version : Fondamental Cycle 4; Secondaire 7e und 6e
“Kontrabass” version: Secondaire 3e, 2e und 1e

The students are accompanied and supported by Noemi Deitz and Marvin Deitz, an experienced musicological team from Hamburg. The associated project manager is Claude Weber, pianist, music pedagogue, and artistic director of the “Salon de Helen Buchholtz”.
The workshop is organized and co-financed by the Sommer Foundation for the MUGILUX project https://history.uni.lu/mugilux/.

Composition workshop

 

Kompositioun vir Kleng a Grouss

This workshop is intended for “Formation musicale” classes in Music Schools and Conservatories.


Dear young musicians,
At the “Salon de Helen Buchholtz”, this composer from Esch-sur-Alzette is in the spotlight. She wrote her music about 100 years ago. Today, there are always musicians who compose new pieces, including Catherine Kontz, who can talk to you at the Salon, about what it was then and what it is today.


Catherine will compose something new with you and show that with a little imagination you can quickly devise a beautiful piece that you can even play or sing right away. You don't need to bring any instruments. Just a bit of good humour and curiosity to discover something new.
2 workshops are offered, adapted to age or musical level. 

Atelier de compositon

Continue your visit

bottom of page

logomark-grand_publc-image.png

Programme

​Éducation

Ateliers

Atelier pour écoles  |

 

Compositrices au Luxembourg

Découvrir la recherche musicologique

 

Un atelier pour les élèves du fondamental et du secondaire: explorer, combiner, comprendre

 

La recherche scientifique est-elle compliquée et ne s’adresse-t-elle qu’aux étudiants à l’université ? Et les résultats sont-ils sans intérêt pour aujourd'hui ? Mais au contraire ! Et c'est pourquoi il est important de se débarrasser justement de ces préjugés-là !

 

L'objectif de l'atelier est de donner aux enfants et aux jeunes une compréhension de la recherche musicologique à l'aide d'exemples pratiques. Ils deviennent eux-mêmes chercheurs, explorent des sources et partent à la recherche d'indices. Sans aucune connaissance préalable, nous plongeons dans le vif du sujet : la curiosité naturelle à résoudre des énigmes sert de moteur pour explorer la biographie et la musique d'une compositrice luxembourgeoise d'une manière particulière.

 

Ainsi, les élèves découvrent un nouveau domaine professionnel avec lequel ils ont peu de contact au quotidien. Le travail avec des archives et des sources est libéré de son image désuète, la musicologie et la recherche deviennent une pratique concrète.

 

La recherche porte soit sur Helen Buchholtz (1877-1953), figure centrale du « Salon », soit sur Béby Kohl-Thommes (1923-2016) qui, parallèlement à ses activités de composition, exerçait principalement une activité de chanteuse (soprano).

 

L'atelier sera multilingue (luxembourgeois, allemand, français), les exigences linguistiques étant bien entendu adaptées au niveau des classes. Aucune connaissance musicale préalable n'est requise.

 

L'atelier est offert en deux niveaux de difficulté différents :

Version „Piccolo“: Fondamental Cycle 4; Secondaire 7e und 6e

Version „Kontrabass“: Secondaire 3e, 2e und 1e

 

Les élèves sont accompagnés et soutenus par Noemi Deitz et Marvin Deitz, une équipe musicologique expérimentée de Hambourg. Le chargé de projet associé est Claude Weber, pianiste, pédagogue musical et directeur artistique du « Salon de Helen Buchholtz ».

L'atelier est organisé et cofinancé par la Fondation Sommer pour le projet MUGILUX https://history.uni.lu/mugilux/.

Atelier de composition

 

Kompositioun vir Kleng a Grouss

Wéi geet dat? Däerf ech dat? Kann ech dat? Wëll ech dat?

 Cet atelier s’adresse aux classes de formation musicale des Écoles et Conservatoires de Musique.

Chers jeunes musiciens et musiciennes,

Au « Salon de Helen Buchholtz », cette compositrice d'Esch-sur-Alzette est à l'honneur. Elle a écrit sa musique il y a environ 100 ans. Aujourd'hui, il y a toujours des musiciennes et des musiciens qui composent de nouvelles pièces, dont Catherine Kontz, qui peut vous parler au Salon, de ce que c’était alors et de ce que c’est aujourd'hui.

Catherine composera quelque chose de nouveau avec vous et montrera qu'avec un peu d'imagination on peut rapidement inventer une belle pièce que l'on peut même jouer ou chanter tout de suite. Vous n'avez pas besoin d'apporter d'instruments. Juste un peu de bonne humeur et de curiosité pour découvrir quelque chose de nouveau.

2 ateliers sont proposés, adaptés à l'âge ou au niveau musical.

 

Continuez votre visite